Category Archives: Administrator

Disclosures

Overview – Disclosures are available under settings/disclosures.  Disclosures are intended to be appended to posts so as to satisfy any legal and regulatory requirements around a post.  This option is only visible to users that have the “Admin” role.Disclosures

Create a Disclosure – Simply press the create button to create a new disclosure.

Edit – Click edit in order to change an existing disclosure.

Delete – Click delete to remove a disclosure.

When creating or editing disclosures the following items are available.

Title – Enter the name of this disclosure.  This is used to identify the disclosure and is for informational purposes only.

Category – Enter a category for this disclosure.  This is a keyword field that allows new items to be entered.  This is for informational purposes only.

Campaign Field – Select the campaign associated with this disclosure.  The items available in this keyword field are populated from the user entry.  This field is used in conjunction with the language field by the rules engine along with the campaign and language designated on the current user record in order to append the appropriate disclosure to a given post.

Language Field – Select the language associated with this disclosure.  The items available in this keyword field are populated from the user entry.  This field is used in conjunction with the campaign field by the rules engine along with the campaign and language designated on the current user record in order to append the appropriate disclosure to a given post.

URL Type – Select external if your disclosure is on an external web site.  Select internal if you would like Social Smart to allow you to edit and display the disclosure.  

Message – Using the rich text editor you can edit your internal disclosure here.  This is what is shown when the disclosure link is clicked.

URL – Enter the trailer that will be appended for this disclosure URL.  Note that if a duplicate is entered a number will be appended to it in order for it to be unique.

IBM Connections Integration

Overview -Social Smart has built in integration to IBM Connections.  IBM Connections management is available under settings/IBM Connections.  This option is only visible to users that have the “Admin” role.   The IBM Connections integration is complex.  We recommend that you contact our support department to make changes to your IBM Connections settings.

IBM Connections

Rules

Overview – Rules management is available under settings/rules.  This option is only visible to users that have the “Admin” role.  The rules represent your social media policies in electronic form.  The rules engine is complex.  We recommend that you contact our support department to make changes to your rules.

rules

Blacklist

Overview – Blacklist management is available under settings/blacklist.  This option is only visible to users that have the “Admin” role.  Simply enter your desired blacklisted words and click save to update.

blacklist

User Management

Overview – User management is available under settings/users.  This option is only visible to users that have the “Admin” role.

user managementCreate a User – Simply press the create button to create a new user.

Edit – Click edit in order to change a users details.

Delete – Click delete to remove a user from Social Smart and completely revoke their privileges to the application.  Note that all archived content for that user will be retained.

User Name Field – Enter the user name for your user here.  Be sure to share this information with the user so they can log in to Social Smart.

Password Field – Enter the password for your user here.  Be sure to share this information with the user so they can log in to Social Smart.

First Name Field – Enter the first name for your user here.

Last Name Field – Enter the first name for your user here.

Email Address Field – Enter the email address for your user here.

Campaign Field – Select the default campaign associated with this user.  The items available in this keyword field are populated from the user entry in Social Smart.  This field is used in conjunction with the language field by the rules engine along with the campaign and language designated on the current user record in order to append the appropriate disclosure to a given post.

Language Field – Select the language associated with this user.  The items available in this keyword field are populated from the user entry in Social Smart.  This field is used in conjunction with the campaign field by the rules engine along with the campaign and language designated on the current user record in order to append the appropriate disclosure to a given post.

User Role – select from one or more of the below roles in order to give this user the appropriate access to Social Smart.

User – Users can log into the system / associate social media accounts with Social Smart and post content based on the social media policies in place for your organization.

Admin – The admin role has access to every aspect of the system.  There should only be a couple of administrators in a typical organization.

Approver – In addition to user capabilities the approver role designates the current user as an approver.  Note that this does not designate this user as an approver for all content but the user will show in the approver drop-down thus allowing this user to be designated as an approver for any user.  See details on the approver field below.

Content Creator – In addition to user capabilities content creators an create pre-approved content for the library.  See the content creation area of this guide for more details on creating content.

Approver Field – Select the appropriate approver for this user in the approver drop-down.  Note that only users that have been previously designated as approvers appear in this field.  Depending on the rules you set up for your organization the approver may receive notifications from this user when new posts have been created.

 

 

 

 

Archive

Overview – The archive is a static storage area where all interaction with social media is stored.  Only users who have the “Admin” role under settings/users are able to view the archive. Once information appears in the archive it cannot be removed manually.

 

archive

Accessing Archive – Only users that have the “Admin” role enabled under settings/users are able to view and open the archive.  Simply click on the archive tab at the top of the screen to open it.

Archived Posts – Archives posts show in the main section of the screen along with details about the post.

Search / Filter –  The ability to filter by status is available in the status drop-down.  In addition a free form search is available by typing in the search box.

Advanced Search / Save Search / Report –  The ability to filter by virtually any item is available by performing an advanced search.  The results of the search can be displayed on the screen , exported to PDF or CSV.  In addition searches can be saved and rerun as reports at a later date.